What to do in lockdown.

Tallis Spem in Alium sung by Stile Antico  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfnEbwcLq0E&feature=youtu.be

Recorder consort music downloads https://www.helenhooker.co.uk/downloads

Backing tracks for recorder players https://www.srp.org.uk/david-moses-downloads/

i Fagiolini’s Sing The Score (+Extra).  Robert Hollingworth and his group have made ‘sing along’ videos:https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLsdmpGkkaBlCmyiEyHtUjBAEIjbb4bVXp and www.ifagiolini.com/singthescore

Peter Holman has an online concert at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qIJ232JWc.  

Play along (with) MIDI Files for Viola da Gambas & Recorders: https://tpgettys.weebly.com/

Or with the Chelys Consort (viols): http://www.chelysconsort.co.uk/consort-minus-one.html

Cappella Nova Outreach in association with Strathclyde University’s Centre for Lifelong Learning:https://mycll.strath.ac.uk/MyCLL/Classes?cid=76&cname=Music+%26+Singing+in+collaboration+with+Cappella+Nova+Outreach

Clare College choir video: https://www.clarecollegechoir.com/videos

Ex Cathedra have made recordings, e.g. sing-alongs for young children, see https://mailchi.mp/excathedra/may-2020-enews?e=994f568de2

A Web page of on-line events is being maintained by SWEMF at https://www.swemf.org.uk/events/online-events/ ,

by EEMF at www.eemf.org.uk/lockdown_links.html

and by BMEMF at www.bmemf.org.uk/online-activities.html

An Alison Kinder lecture-recital on the music of Tobias Hume is at https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=amqG1fSKXGs&app=desktop;

she has many other videos via

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCnMc0tcKenkLzpbAfyFpkng .

The Sixteen have online performances and talks at https://thesixteen.com/quarantine-with-the-sixteen/ and What’s On – The Sixteen (A Choral Odyssey sequence).

There are backing tracks for a variety of early music instrumental works at https://www.catonthekeysmusic.co.uk/ .  A few tracks are free.

David Hatcher has consort music minus one part – for you to fill in! – see 

The City Musick also have recordings minus one part – see https://www.tcmusick.com/cck-music-store – but you do have to pay.

Unlock your Singing with Jennie Cassidy at https://www.connectandteach.com/lesson/unlock-your-singing/

PlayScore 2, currently for IPhone/iPad only (www.playscore.co ) allows you to take a photo of your music and it will play it, or you can import a PDF to play. It allows you to play at any speed you like, and you can set the instruments and transpose.  It also exports MIDI if you want.

Some on-line lessons are being offered by

Alison Kinder, viols, www.alisonkinder.co.uk

Oonagh Lee, historical oboes and recorders, www.oonaghlee.com

Richard MacKenzie, lutes and guitars, http://magnatune.com/artists/richard_mackenzie/

Regular Events

The Telling Wednesday evenings, Fridays 11am: https://www.thetelling.co.uk/concert-diary

David Allinson Lunchtime Live, Fridays at 1pm: http://davidallinson.com/diary/

Online Early Music Forum, three times per week; make harmony over the Web via Jamulus: oemf@josquin.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s