Concerts

DIARY OF EVENTS

Concerts

NB. listing is no guarantee that the concert will take place.  Please check

Please send information to: jmh@noc.ac.uk.  I do not actively research concerts, relying on members or organisers to submit details for inclusion.

March

2 Wigmore Hall online: The English Concert – Bach, Erlebach and Purcell.  https://wigmore-hall.org.uk/whats-on/the-english-concert-202103021300 

4 Stile Antico, 7:30 pm online.  Toward the Dawn, a musical journey from dusk to dawn

17 Early Music @ Newcastle. 11.00am.  Mhairi Lawson: Traditional Scots songs in Corri’s Select Collection of 1779.  Lawrence Zazzo & Geoff Page: World premiere of Il Penseroso. 

31 Early Music @ Newcastle. 11.00am.  Magdalena Loth-Hill (Baroque violin), John Green (harpsichord): Daniel Purcell: Sonata in F minor; Arcangelo Corelli: Sonata in A major, Op.5, No.9 with ornamentation by Festing; Michael Christian Festing: Sonata in E minor, Op 4, No 8; G F Handel: Sonata in D major, HWV 371   www.ncl.ac.uk/events/live-music

April

1 Early Music @ Newcastle. 13.15.  Newcastle upon Tyne Bach Choir, Eric Cross (conductor).  J S Bach: Lobet den Herrn, BWV 230 and works by Victoria, Hassler, Handl, Dering, Mendelssohn & MacMillan.  www.ncl.ac.uk/events/live-music

1 Stile Antico, Tenebrae Responsories: Victoria’s Passiontide masterpiece live-streamed 7:30 pm online and streamed (free) for 30 days

1 The Sixteen: a Choral Odessey; booking begins for recitals to view online.

May

7-9 Bristol Early Music Festival, All Saints, Pembroke Road, Bristol, BS8 3ED.  http://bristolearlymusicfestival.uk/ 

21-23 Worcester Early Music Festival.

28-30 Beverley Early Music Festival, with Stile Antico, La Serenissima, Alva, Matthew Wadsworth, David Neave, Vivien Ellis.  www.ncem.co.uk

28 Stile Antico, 7:30 pm, The Journey of the Mayflower, Beverley Early Music Festival, marking 400 years since the sailing of the Pilgrims.  Beverley Minster

July

9-17 NCEM.  York Early Music Festival

Contacts for concerts

Armonico.  http://www.armonico.org.uk 

Bassenthwaite Festival.  info@bassfest.org.uk , 07849 383727, www.bassfest.org.uk 

Birmingham Barber Institute.  http://barber.org.uk/  0121 414 7333

Birmingham Town Hall.  www.thsh.co.uk  0121 345 0600.

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. 0161 907 9000, 0161 950 0015, www.bridgewater-hall.co.uk

Buxton Festival. 0845 1272190, http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Buxton Opera House 0845 1272190, boxoffice@buxtonoperahouse.org.uk, www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk & http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Chandos Choir.  www.solihullchandoschoir.org 

Chetham‘s School of Music, Long Millgate, Manchester, M3 1SB, 0161 838 7200,
www.chethams.com

Early Dance Circle Festival, Ann Kent tel. 01484 663842, email paulkent4@btinternet.com http://www.earlydancecircle.co.uk/ 

Ex Cathedra. www.excathedra.co.uk 

Fiori Musicali  http://fiori-musicali.com

Gregynog Festival.  www.gregynogfestival.org 

Higham Hall Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth, CA13 9HS, 017687 76276, admin@highamhall.com 

Kempley Village Hall, http://www.kempleyvillagehall.org.uk/, 07891 254372.

Leeds University, http://concerts.leeds.ac.uk 

Leeds Waits.  alan.radford@btinternet.com

Leicester, Castle House.  www.earlymusicleicester.co.uk

Leominster.  Tourist Information Centre, reception@leominstertourism.co.uk 01568 616460.

Lichfield Festival.  www.lichfieldfestival.org 

Liverpool Bach Collective, https://www.liverpoolbach.com/future-events 

Liverpool Renaissance Singers.  www.liverpoolrenaissancesingers.org 

London Festival of Baroque Music, www.lfbm.org.uk 

The Magic of Medieval Music  https://www.ipmusic.org.uk/medievalmusic 

Music in New Radnor.   Box office  01544 350268.

NCEM, National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church, Walmgate, Percy’s Lane, York, YO1 9TI. 01904 632220, boxoffice@ncem.co.uk, http://www.ncem.co.uk 

Newcastle University https://www.ncl.ac.uk/events/live-music/nemf/ 

Oswestry, https://www.universe.com/users/oswestry-school-recital-series-B97WTF 

Recorders Scotland, Lynne Hope at Recorder Players, 19 West Burnside, Dollar, FK14 7DP, Scotland, UK

Ripon.  01765 605508,  www.riponinternationalfestival.com 

Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM), Manchester Box Office, 0161 907 5555, box.office@rncm.ac.uk, www.rncm.ac.uk

St Andrew’s & West Church, Edinburgh.  Queen’s Hall Box Office, http://www.thequeenshall.net/elsewhere/shows/,  0131-668 2019

St. George’s Singers.  www.st-georges-singers.org.uk, 01663 764012.

St Martin’s Church, Worcester.  www.stmartinsworcester.org.uk 

Salts Mill, Saltaire,  01274 288100, sales@earlymusicshop.com, www.earlymusicshop.com 

Stile Antico, https://www.stileantico.co.uk/concerts

Stratford, http://www.stratford-upon-avon.org/soundbites 

Tewkesbury.  www.oldchapelcourtconcerts.eventbrite.com   

The Sixteen, www.thesixteen.com

William Byrd Singers.  http://www.williambyrdsingers.org.uk/concerts.shtml 

Worcester Cathedral.  Worcester Live Box Office, 01905 611427

Worcester Huntingdon Hall.  Worcester Concert Club, 01905 611427

Worcester Early Music Festival.  www.earlymusicworcs.org 

Wordsworth Singers  www.wordsworthsingers.org.uk , 01900 829622.

York,  Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, www.york.ac.uk/concerts 

York Waits, http://theyorkwaits.org.uk