Concerts

DIARY OF EVENTS

 

Concerts

Please send information to: jmh@noc.ac.uk.  I do not actively research concerts, relying on members or organisers to submit details for inclusion.

 

January 2018

13        Handel Messiah, St George’s Singers, Norbury Church, London Road, Hazel Grove

23        The Gesualdo Six: The Flower of the Italian Madrigal, St. Mary’s Ch. Warwick. http://leamingtonmusic.org

24        K’Antu Ensemble “explores the less-trodden territories of early music.”  New Vic Theatre, Etruria Road, Newcastle Under Lyme ST5 0JG. www.keele.ac.uk/artskeele

26        CBSO Baroque Ensemble play Vivaldi, Corelli, Bassano, Locatelli.  1.10pm, CBSO Centre, Berkley St. Birmingham.  www.cbso.co.uk

27        Biber Salzburg Mass a 53, Handel Water Music suites 1&2; Armonico Consort.  7..30pm, St. Mary’s church, Warwick.  www.armonico.org.uk

31        I Faglioni: Musical science in the time of Monteverdi.  Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, University of York, YO10 5DD.  www.york.ac.uk/concerts

 

February

2          The Sixteen: Vivaldi Gloria, Bach, Handel; Derby Cathedral, 7.30pm

3          Armonico Consort and Baroque Orchestra.  Biber’s Missa Salisburgensis à 53 Voci at Malvern Theatres, Great Malvern.  ​www.malvern-theatres.co.uk

9          Birmingham Barber Institute.  Siglo de Oro: History of the Reformation and Counter-reformation illustrated with music by Josquin, Tye, Sheppard, Byrd, Palestrina, Victoria.  1.10pm at the Barber Institute, Birmingham University.

9          The Sixteen: Vivaldi Gloria, Bach, Handel; Worcester Cathedral, 7.30pm

9          “Bach and Beyond”.  Listen to and explore J.S. Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin; also music by Westhoff and Biber; with Alice Earll. 7.30pm, Linton Village Hall HR9 7RX.  Tickets:  £8.  lvh@lintonvillage.com or 07974 484141.

10        “Bach and Beyond”.  Listen to and explore J.S. Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin; also music by Westhoff and Biber; with Alice Earll. 7.30pm, Kempley Village Hall, GL18 2BP  £10 (under 10’s free). www.kempleyvillagehall.org.uk, kempleyevents@gmail.com or 07854 259093.

10        Pepys’ Show (music by Lanier, Lawes, Locke and Purcell).  Cabinet of Curiosities, 7.30pm, Dorridge Village Hall, Solihull B93 8QA.

14        Florilegium: Merchants of Venice (Corelli, Vivaldi, Handel, Scarlatti, Legrenzi); 8pm Abbotsholme school chapel, Rocester, Uttoxeter.  www.abbotsholmeartssociety.co.uk

15-18   Birmingham International Recorder & Early Music Festival, www.bcu.ac.uk/recorderfest18

17        Pepys’ Show (music by Lanier, Lawes, Locke and Purcell).  Cabinet of Curiosities, 7.30pm, Clarendon Park Congregational Church, London Road, Leicester LE2 3BB.

20        Jonglaresa: The Enchantress of Seville, St. Mary’s Ch. Warwick, 7.30pm. http://leamingtonmusic.org

28        The 24, 7.30 pm,  Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, York. Robert Hollingworth director.  Our German cousins: Schütz, Hassler, Schein, Mendelssohn, Brahms, Rheinberger, Richard Strauss.

 

March

2          Fretwork – The World Encompassed, Sir Francis Drake’s Circumnavigation of the Globe. Asako Morikawa, Reiko Ichnise, Sam Stadlen, Emily Ashton, Richard Boothby – viols – with a Narrator. Square Chapel Arts Centre, Halifax, 7.30 pm. Box Office: 01422 349422, https://www.squarechapel.co.uk

6          Chetham’s School of Music, 1.15 pm, St Paul’s Hall, Huddersfield. Music from 17th and 18th Century France: chamber works by Couperin, Rameau and Marais, directed by Dr Martyn Shaw. https://www.hud.ac.uk/performance

7          JS Bach Easter & Ascension Oratorios: ‘Kommt, eilet und laufet’ BWV 249, ‘Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen’ BWV 11, 7.30 pm, Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, York; University Chamber Choir with University Baroque Ensemble, Compagnia d’Istrumenti, Peter Seymour conductor.  http://yorkconcerts.co.uk

10        Ex Cathedra, Birmingham Cathedral, 5pm; music by Monteverdi, Gesualdo, Anerio.  www.excathedra.co.uk

10        Marian Consort and Levens Choir: Music of Thomas Tallis.  St. George’s Church, Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AS.  www.levenschoir.net

12        Herschel Trio (recorder/flute, viola da gamba, harpsichord): music by JS Bach, Handel, Telemann.  Ripon Cathedral HG4 1QT.  www.riponconcerts.co.uk

17        Music for Passiontide, St George’s Singers: St George’s Church, London Road, Poynton; Gibbons, Gjeilo, Lotti, Purcell, Tomkins, Stainer, Vittoria.

22        Old and New, Four’s Company, The University of Huddersfield Chamber Choir and Early Music Ensemble, Director: John Bryan, 7.30 pm, St Paul’s Hall, Huddersfield.

 

April

2          St Matthew Passion (Bach), Glossop Festival Orchestra & chamber choir.  Glossop Parish church, Church Street South, SK137RU.  www.glossopmusicfestival.org.uk

27-29   Worcester Early Music Festival.  Rachel Podger, David Hatcher, Blondel and more.  See www.earlymusicworcs.org

 

May

5          12.30 pm, Towards the String Quartet, National Centre for Early Music. Compagnia d’Istrumenti: Telemann, Richter, Mozart, Haydn.

3.00 pm, Kemp English Fortepiano, National Centre for Early Music: Mozart, Koželuch, Schubert

7.00 pm, Towards the Symphony, National Centre for Early Music. University of York Baroque Ensemble: Mozart, WF Bach, Haydn,  http://yorkconcerts.co.uk

13        St Matthew Passion (Bach), Eversley Choir.  Capernwray Hall, Carnforth LA6 1AG.  www.eversleychoir.org

19        Worcester Early Music Group “Pride and Prejudice” Ball; Worcester’s Guildhall. See www.earlymusicworcs.org

 

Contacts for concerts

Armonicohttp://www.armonico.org.uk

Bassenthwaite Festival.  info@bassfest.org.uk , 07849 383727, www.bassfest.org.uk

Birmingham Barber Institutehttp://barber.org.uk/  0121 414 7333

Birmingham Town Hall.  www.thsh.co.uk  0121 345 0600.

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. 0161 907 9000, 0161 950 0015, www.bridgewater-hall.co.uk

Buxton Festival. 0845 1272190, www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Buxton Opera House 0845 1272190, boxoffice@buxtonoperahouse.org.uk, www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk & www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Chandos Choir.  www.solihullchandoschoir.org

Chetham‘s School of Music, Long Millgate, Manchester, M3 1SB, 0161 838 7200,
www.chethams.com

Early Dance Circle Festival, Ann Kent tel. 01484 663842, email paulkent4@btinternet.com http://www.earlydancecircle.co.uk/

Fiori Musicali  http://fiori-musicali.com

Gregynog Festival.  www.gregynogfestival.org

Higham Hall Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth, CA13 9HS, 017687 76276, admin@highamhall.com

Kempley Village Hall, http://www.kempleyvillagehall.org.uk/, 07891 254372.

Leeds University, http://concerts.leeds.ac.uk

Leeds Waits.  alan.radford@btinternet.com

Leicester, Castle House.  www.earlymusicleicester.co.uk

Leominster.  Tourist Information Centre, reception@leominstertourism.co.uk 01568 616460.

Lichfield Festival.  www.lichfieldfestival.org

London Festival of Baroque Music, www.lfbm.org.uk

The Magic of Medieval Music  https://www.ipmusic.org.uk/medievalmusic

Music in New Radnor.   Box office  01544 350268.

NCEM, National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church, Walmgate, Percy’s Lane, York, YO1 9TI. 01904 632220, boxoffice@ncem.co.uk, www.ncem.co.uk

Recorders Scotland, Lynne Hope at Recorder Players, 19 West Burnside, Dollar, FK14 7DP, Scotland, UK

Ripon.  01765 605508,  www.riponinternationalfestival.com

Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM), Manchester Box Office, 0161 907 5555, box.office@rncm.ac.uk, www.rncm.ac.uk

St Andrew’s & West Church, Edinburgh.  Queen’s Hall Box Office, http://www.thequeenshall.net/elsewhere/shows/,  0131-668 2019

St. George’s Singerswww.st-georges-singers.org.uk, 01663 764012.

St Martin’s Church, Worcester.  www.stmartinsworcester.org.uk

Salts Mill, Saltaire,  01274 288100, sales@earlymusicshop.com, www.earlymusicshop.com

Tewkesburywww.johnmooremuseum.org/events

The Sixteen, www.thesixteen.com

Worcester Cathedral.  Worcester Live Box Office, 01905 611427

Worcester Huntingdon Hall.  Worcester Concert Club, 01905 611427

Worcester Early Music Festival.  www.earlymusicworcs.org

Wordsworth Singers  www.wordsworthsingers.org.uk , 01900 829622.

York,  Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, www.york.ac.uk/concerts

York Waits, http://theyorkwaits.org.uk

 

Advertisements