Concerts

DIARY OF EVENTS

NB. listing is no guarantee that the workshop or concert will take place.  Please check before committing.

Concerts

Please send information to: jmh@noc.ac.uk.  I do not actively research concerts, relying on members or organisers to submit details for inclusion.

August

1-7 Musica Deo Sacra 2022, Tewkesbury Abbey, GL20 5RZ; a festival celebrating music in the Liturgy.  https://www.swemf.org.uk/event/9473/ 

6 The Telling’s Empowered Women Trilogy, Hildegard of Bingen; St Peter’s Church, Lichee Gates, Wolverhampton, WV1 1UA, 8pm.  https://www.thetelling.co.uk/diary 

10 1 pm and 3 pm, Elspeth McVeigh concert, St. Cecilia’s Music Museum & Concert Hall, 50 Niddry Street, Edinburgh EH1 1LG.  https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on#q=%22Elspeth%20McVeigh%22 

15-17 Renaissance Band at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2022, 4.30pm (6.30 on 17th);  artSpace@St Marks (Unitarian Church, Castle Terrace, Edinburgh) Venue 125: Contact Peter Jones: pjones@blueyonder.co.uk 

September

10 10 am – 4 pm, EMFS Drop-in Performance Day, Pittencrieff House Museum, Pittencrieff Park, Dunfermline.

10 5.30 pm, St Andrew’s Church, Corbridge in aid of Christian Aid Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal: works by J-M Leclair, François Couperin and J-P Rameau. Magdalena Loth-Hill – Baroque Violin, Jacob Garside – Viola da Gamba, John Green – Harpsichord.  eventscorbridgechurch@btinternet.com 

11 Liverpool Bach Collective, Holy Cross Church, Church Lane, Woodchurch, Wirral, CH49 7LS, 6:30pm.  Cantata 127: Herr Jesu Christ, wah’r Mensch und Gott (Lord Jesus Christ, true man and true God)

18 Liverpool, The Telling.  https://www.thetelling.co.uk

22 The Sixteen.  Choral Pilgrimage 2022, Southwell Minster, 7:30pm

23 The Sixteen.  Choral Pilgrimage 2022, Metropolitan Cathedral, Liverpool, 7:30pm.

24 The Sixteen.  Choral Pilgrimage 2022, Blackburn Cathedral, 7:30pm.

24 7.30 pm, St. John’s Church, Sharow, Passacaglia Trio – ‘To Touch the Heart’. Music of the Royal Courts of Prussia centred around sonatas of CPE Bach, with works by J S Bach, Frederick the Great, Wilhelmine of Prussia, Anna Bon, Princess Anna Amalia.  Annabel Knight recorder, baroque flute; Reiko Ichise viola da gamba; Robin Bigwood harpsichord.  01765-605508,  https://riponinternationalfestival.org/ 

October

13 The Sixteen.  Choral Pilgrimage 2022, Lancaster Priory, 7:30pm.

14 The Sixteen.  Choral Pilgrimage 2022, Hexham Abbey, 7:30pm.

15 The Sixteen.  Choral Pilgrimage 2022, Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh, 7:30pm.

21 The Sixteen.  Choral Pilgrimage 2022, Derby Cathedral, 7:30pm.

21-25 Brecon Baroque Festival: opening concert in Brecon Cathedral with two Lutheran masses by J S Bach performed by I Fagiolini.

23 Liverpool Bach Collective, Church of St Edmund of Canterbury, Oxford Road, Waterloo, L22 8QF, 6:30pm.  Cantata 179: Sieh zu, dass deine Gottesfurcht nicht Heuchelei sei (Take care your fear of God is not hypocrisy)

November

9-12 London International Festival of Early Music

27 Liverpool Bach Collective, St Columba’s Church, Pinehurst Road, Anfield, L4 7UQ,  6:30pm.  Cantata 61: Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland (Come now, O Saviour of the Gentiles)

Contacts for concerts

Armonico.  http://www.armonico.org.uk 

Birmingham Barber Institute.  http://barber.org.uk/  0121 414 7333

Birmingham Town Hall.  www.thsh.co.uk  0121 289 6333.

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. 0161 907 9000, www.bridgewater-hall.co.uk

Buxton Festival. 01298 72190, http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Buxton Opera House 01298 72190, boxoffice@boh.org.uk , www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk & http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Chandos Choir.  www.solihullchandoschoir.org 

Chetham‘s School of Music, www.chethams.com , Stoller hall 0333 130 0967

Early Dance Circle Festival, http://www.earlydancecircle.co.uk/ 

Ex Cathedra. www.excathedra.co.uk 

Fiori Musicali www.fiori-musicali.com

Higham Hall Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth, CA13 9HS, 017687 76276, admin@highamhall.com , www.highamhall.com 

Kempley Village Hall, http://www.kempleyvillagehall.org.uk/, kempleyvillagehall@gmail.com 

Leeds University, http://concerts.leeds.ac.uk 

Leeds Waits.  http://www.leedswaits.org.uk/waits.htm , alan.radford@btinternet.com

Leicester, Castle House.  www.earlymusicleicester.co.uk

Lichfield Festival.  www.lichfieldfestival.org 

Liverpool Bach Collective, https://www.liverpoolbach.com/future-events 

Liverpool Renaissance Singers.  www.liverpoolrenaissancesingers.org 

London Festival of Baroque Music, www.lfbm.org.uk 

The Magic of Medieval Music  https://www.ipmusic.org.uk/medievalmusic 

NCEM, National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church, Walmgate, Percy’s Lane, York, YO1 9TI. 01904 632220, boxoffice@ncem.co.uk, http://www.ncem.co.uk 

Newcastle University https://www.ncl.ac.uk/events/live-music/ 

Opus Anglicanum.  https://www.opusanglicanum.org/ 

Ripon.  01765 605508,  www.riponinternationalfestival.com 

Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM), info@rncm.ac.uk, www.rncm.ac.uk

Edinburgh, Queen’s Hall, https://www.thequeenshall.net/your-visit/booking-tickets, 0131-668 2019

St. George’s Singers.  www.st-georges-singers.org.uk, 01663 764012.

St Martin’s Church, Worcester.  www.stmartinsworcester.org.uk 

Salts Mill, Saltaire,  01274 288100, sales@earlymusicshop.com, www.earlymusicshop.com 

Stile Antico, https://www.stileantico.co.uk/concerts

Stratford, http://www.stratford-upon-avon.org/soundbites 

The Sixteen, www.thesixteen.com

William Byrd Singers.  http://www.williambyrdsingers.org.uk/concerts.shtml 

Worcester Cathedral.  https://www.worcestercathedral.co.uk/whats-on#filter=* 

Worcester Huntingdon Hall / Concert Club, https://www.worcserenade.co.uk/  01905 611427

Worcester Early Music Festival.  www.earlymusicworcs.org 

Wordsworth Singers  www.wordsworthsingers.org.uk.

York, Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, www.york.ac.uk/concerts 

York Waits, http://theyorkwaits.org.uk