Concerts

DIARY OF EVENTS

NB. listing is no guarantee that the workshop or concert will take place.  Please check before committing.

Concerts

NB. listing is no guarantee that the concert will take place.  Please check

Please send information to: jmh@noc.ac.uk I do not actively research concerts, relying on members or organisers to submit details for inclusion.

December

2 7.30pm, Carols in Conwy, St Mary’s Church, Rose Hill Street.  The Telling, mulled wine and candlelit concert of traditional & medieval carols.  5.45pm, carol singing workshop with Clare Norburn.  https://www.thetelling.co.uk/events/carols-in-co 

9 The Sixteen at Christmas: The Sage, Gateshead, 7.30pm

10 Liverpool Renaissance Singers, 8pm, St. Nicholas’ (Liverpool Parish) Church, L2 8GW.  Parts 1 and 2 of JS Bach’s Christmas Oratorio, mass by Thomas Tallis, music by Jacob Handl, Lassus, Josquin des Pres.

14 7.30pm.  York Waits, St Mary’s Church, Kettlewell, Skipton BD23 5QU.  The Mirth and Melody of Angels; Upper Wharfedale Arts and Literature Society, uwalsociety@gmail.com 

17 12.00noon.  York Waits, Square Chapel Arts Centre, Halifax HX1 1QG.  The Mirth and Melody of Angels; Quaytickets 03432086016.

18 3.00pm.  York Waits, Holy Trinity Church, Wentworth, Rotherham, S62 7TW.  The Mirth and Melody of Angels; 01226 744084  wsclapham@gmail.com 

18 6.30pm.  Liverpool Bach Collective, Church of Our Lady of Compassion, School Lane, Formby, L37 3LW.  Cantata 36: Schwingt freudig euch empor (Sing joyfully aloft, ye voices)

20 7.30pm.  York Waits, National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church, Walmgate, York YO1 9TL.  The Mirth and Melody of Angels; 01904 658338 info@ncem.co.uk 

21 6pm from Mickelgate Bar, York; York Waits Yule Riding procession.  www.theyorkwaits.org.uk 

January 2023

22 6.30pm.  Liverpool Bach Collective, St Giles’ Church, Aintree Lane, Aintree, Liverpool, L10 8LE.  Cantata 123: Liebster Emmanuel, Herzog der Frommen (Dearest Emmanuel, Lord of the faithful)

28 2.00pm, St Andrew’s Church, Corbridge, Music from the French Baroque: Jean-Marie Leclair, François Couperin, Jean-Philippe Rameau.  Magdalena Loth-Hill (Baroque violin), Jacob Garside (viola da gamba), John Green (harpsichord).  £15 (including refreshments; students free) in aid of Christian Aid Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal; eventscorbridgechurch@btinternet.com or at the door.

February 2023

12 Musical & Amicable Society play Bach’s The Art of Fugue, Angel Centre, Angel Place, Worcester WR1 3QN, 3.00pm.  www.earlymusicworcs.org 

19 6.30pm.  Liverpool Bach Collective, St Mary’s Church, Back Lane, Little Crosby, L23 4UA.  Cantata 199: Mein Herz schwimmt im Blut (My heart is bathed in blood)

22 Stile Antico, England’s Nightingale: the remarkable music of William Byrd.  Keele University Chapel, Newcastle-under-Lyme, 7:30 pm

March 2023

25 7pm.  Liverpool Bach Collective, St Matthew Passion, Church of Our Lady & St Nicolas (Liverpool Parish Church), Old Churchyard, Liverpool, L2 8TZ.

May 2023

3-5 Bristol Early Music Festival; All Saints, Pembroke Road, Bristol. https://www.bristolearlymusicfestival.uk    

Contacts for concerts

Armonicohttp://www.armonico.org.uk 

Birmingham Barber Institutehttp://barber.org.uk/  0121 414 7333

Birmingham Town Hall.  www.thsh.co.uk  0121 289 6333.

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. 0161 907 9000, www.bridgewater-hall.co.uk

BREMF Brighton Early Music Festival,  www.bremf.org.uk 

Buxton Festival. 01298 72190, http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Buxton Opera House 01298 72190, boxoffice@boh.org.uk , www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk & http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Chandos Choir.  www.solihullchandoschoir.org 

Chetham‘s School of Music, www.chethams.com , Stoller hall 0333 130 0967

Early Dance Circle Festival, http://www.earlydancecircle.co.uk/ 

Ex Cathedra. www.excathedra.co.uk 

Fiori Musicali www.fiori-musicali.com

Higham Hall Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth, CA13 9HS, 017687 76276, admin@highamhall.com , www.highamhall.com 

Kempley Village Hall, http://www.kempleyvillagehall.org.uk/, kempleyvillagehall@gmail.com 

Leeds University, http://concerts.leeds.ac.uk 

Leeds Waits.  http://www.leedswaits.org.uk/waits.htm , alan.radford@btinternet.com

Leicester, Castle House.  www.earlymusicleicester.co.uk

Lichfield Festival.  www.lichfieldfestival.org 

Liverpool Bach Collective, https://www.liverpoolbach.com/future-events 

Liverpool Renaissance Singerswww.liverpoolrenaissancesingers.org 

London Festival of Baroque Music, www.lfbm.org.uk 

The Magic of Medieval Music  https://www.ipmusic.org.uk/medievalmusic 

NCEM, National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church, Walmgate, Percy’s Lane, York, YO1 9TI. 01904 632220, boxoffice@ncem.co.uk, http://www.ncem.co.uk 

Newcastle University https://www.ncl.ac.uk/events/live-music/ 

Opus Anglicanumhttps://www.opusanglicanum.org/ 

Ripon.  01765 605508,  www.riponinternationalfestival.com 

Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM), info@rncm.ac.uk, www.rncm.ac.uk

Edinburgh, Queen’s Hall, https://www.thequeenshall.net/your-visit/booking-tickets, 0131-668 2019

St. George’s Singerswww.st-georges-singers.org.uk, 01663 764012.

St Martin’s Church, Worcester.  www.stmartinsworcester.org.uk 

Salts Mill, Saltaire,  01274 288100, sales@earlymusicshop.com, www.earlymusicshop.com 

Stile Antico, https://www.stileantico.co.uk/concerts

Stratford, http://www.stratford-upon-avon.org/soundbites 

The Sixteen, www.thesixteen.com

William Byrd Singers.  http://www.williambyrdsingers.org.uk/concerts.shtml 

Worcester Cathedral.  https://www.worcestercathedral.co.uk/whats-on#filter=* 

Worcester Huntingdon Hall / Concert Club, https://www.worcserenade.co.uk/  01905 611427

Worcester Early Music Festival.  www.earlymusicworcs.org 

Wordsworth Singers  www.wordsworthsingers.org.uk.

York, Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, www.york.ac.uk/concerts 

York Waits, http://theyorkwaits.org.uk