Concerts

DIARY OF EVENTS

 

Concerts

Please send information to: jmh@noc.ac.uk.  I do not actively research concerts, relying on members or organisers to submit details for inclusion.

 

August

1          Daytime, Leeds Waits, Music for Yorkshire Day at Pontefract Castle. Alan Radford

3          Dunstable, Landini, Dowland, Monteverdi sung by Deborah Catterall soprano, Gareth Glyn Roberts tenor with Hugh Cherry lutes.  7.30pm, St. Werburgh’s, Grosvenor Park Road, Chester CH1 1QJ.

4          Robin Bigwood plays the Bach Goldberg Variations on harpsichord.  1500, Old Chapel Court Concert, Old Baptist Chapel, Church Street, Tewkesbury, GL20 5RZ.

4-7       Bruges Early Music Fair www.mafestival.be

12        1500,  St John’s church, Knaresborough, Le Plaisirs de Versailles, music (Couperin, 1668 -1733, and contemporaries) from the court of Louis XIV, with ARIOSO.

12        The Age of Elegance.  Popular songs and instrumental music from the 17th and 18th centuries by Dowland, Handel, Bach, Purcell, Corelli and Scarlatti. Played on period instruments by Eden Baroque (Michael Sanderson, baritone and baroque violin / Katharine May, harpsichord).  1500 (bring a picnic from 1300).  Scalesceugh Hall & Villas. Carleton, Carlisle, Cumbria CA4 0BT.  Contact contact Anita on 07888 896902, or Katharine on 07810 196215 or email info@scalesceughvillas.co.uk

22-27   Southwell Music Festival. Wednesday 22nd: Bach organ recital, 4pm, B Minor Mass, 7pm. Plus fringe performances. https://issuu.com/southwellmusicfestival/

24 – 2 Sept.  Utrecht Early Music Festival www.oudemuziek.nl

 

September

9, 16    Daytime, Leeds Waits, Music for the Mystery Plays, York. Alan Radford

12        Evening, Leeds Waits, Music for the Mystery Plays, York. Alan Radford

15        Daytime, Leeds Waits, Music for the Queen’s Regiment at Oakwell Hall, Birstall.

23        Elizabeth Kenny – Extending from the Inside: music for theorbo from the 17th to the 21st centuries.  1530, Old Chapel Court Concert, Old Baptist Chapel, Church Street, Tewkesbury, GL20 5RZ.

29        Evening, Leeds Waits, Music for Henry VII, Amnesty concert, Rawdon. Alan Radford

 

October

20        Ebor Singers, York Minster, 7.30pm.  www.eborsingers.org.

21        In 40 Parts: Tallis, Striggio, Jackson, Roth; Ex Cathedra, 1600, Birmingham Town Hall.  www.excathedra.co.uk .

26-28   35th Annual Early Dance Festival, Norwich.  www.earlydancecircle.co.uk

28        3.00 pm, Music of the Enlightenment, Leeds Baroque Choir and Orchestra, conductor Peter Holman; The Venue, Leeds College of Music.  https://www.leedsbaroque.org/

29        Bach St. Matthew Passion; English Touring Opera; 1930, Grand Theatre, Wolverhampton.  www.englishtouringopera.org.uk .

 

November

8-10     London International Festival of Early Music, Blackheath, 23 Lee Road, SE3 9RQ.  http://www.earlymusicshop.com/More/London_International_Exhibition_of_Early_Music.aspx

 

December

8          4.00 pm, Pepys Christmas with Ad Hoc Baroque at Ilkley Manor House.

21        Malvern Theatres, 1930.  Armonico Consort and Orchestra. The Advent of Christmas.  Bach: Advent Cantata and Brandenberg Concerto no 4; Charpentier: Messe de Minuit pour Noël.  www.malvern-theatres.co.uk

 

Contacts for concerts

Armonicohttp://www.armonico.org.uk

Bassenthwaite Festival.  info@bassfest.org.uk , 07849 383727, www.bassfest.org.uk

Birmingham Barber Institutehttp://barber.org.uk/  0121 414 7333

Birmingham Town Hall.  www.thsh.co.uk  0121 345 0600.

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. 0161 907 9000, 0161 950 0015, www.bridgewater-hall.co.uk

Buxton Festival. 0845 1272190, http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Buxton Opera House 0845 1272190, boxoffice@buxtonoperahouse.org.uk, www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk & http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Chandos Choir.  www.solihullchandoschoir.org

Chetham‘s School of Music, Long Millgate, Manchester, M3 1SB, 0161 838 7200,
www.chethams.com

Early Dance Circle Festival, Ann Kent tel. 01484 663842, email paulkent4@btinternet.com http://www.earlydancecircle.co.uk/

Fiori Musicali  http://fiori-musicali.com

Gregynog Festival.  www.gregynogfestival.org

Higham Hall Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth, CA13 9HS, 017687 76276, admin@highamhall.com

Kempley Village Hall, http://www.kempleyvillagehall.org.uk/, 07891 254372.

Leeds University, http://concerts.leeds.ac.uk

Leeds Waits.  alan.radford@btinternet.com

Leicester, Castle House.  www.earlymusicleicester.co.uk

Leominster.  Tourist Information Centre, reception@leominstertourism.co.uk 01568 616460.

Lichfield Festival.  www.lichfieldfestival.org

Liverpool Bach Collective, https://www.liverpoolbach.com/future-events

Liverpool Renaissance Singerswww.liverpoolrenaissancesingers.org

London Festival of Baroque Music, www.lfbm.org.uk

The Magic of Medieval Music  https://www.ipmusic.org.uk/medievalmusic

Music in New Radnor.   Box office  01544 350268.

NCEM, National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church, Walmgate, Percy’s Lane, York, YO1 9TI. 01904 632220, boxoffice@ncem.co.uk, http://www.ncem.co.uk

Recorders Scotland, Lynne Hope at Recorder Players, 19 West Burnside, Dollar, FK14 7DP, Scotland, UK

Ripon.  01765 605508,  www.riponinternationalfestival.com

Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM), Manchester Box Office, 0161 907 5555, box.office@rncm.ac.uk, www.rncm.ac.uk

St Andrew’s & West Church, Edinburgh.  Queen’s Hall Box Office, http://www.thequeenshall.net/elsewhere/shows/,  0131-668 2019

St. George’s Singerswww.st-georges-singers.org.uk, 01663 764012.

St Martin’s Church, Worcester.  www.stmartinsworcester.org.uk

Salts Mill, Saltaire,  01274 288100, sales@earlymusicshop.com, www.earlymusicshop.com

Stratford, http://www.stratford-upon-avon.org/soundbites

Tewkesburywww.johnmooremuseum.org/events

The Sixteen, www.thesixteen.com

William Byrd Singers.  http://www.williambyrdsingers.org.uk/concerts.shtml

Worcester Cathedral.  Worcester Live Box Office, 01905 611427

Worcester Huntingdon Hall.  Worcester Concert Club, 01905 611427

Worcester Early Music Festival.  www.earlymusicworcs.org

Wordsworth Singers  www.wordsworthsingers.org.uk , 01900 829622.

York,  Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, www.york.ac.uk/concerts

York Waits, http://theyorkwaits.org.uk

 

Advertisements