Concerts

DIARY OF EVENTS

 

Concerts

Please send information to: jmh@noc.ac.uk.  I do not actively research concerts, relying on members or organisers to submit details for inclusion.

 June

 

7          Cifras Imaginarias; Swaledale Festival vihuela duo recital (Ariel Abramovich, Jacob Heringman); Aske Hall Chapel, Richmond, N. Yorks, 4pm.

8          Summer Music by Candlelight sung by Ex Cathedra, 2000, St Mary’s Church, Shrewsbury.  www.excathedra.co.uk

8          Pérotin: the Scottish source.  Medieval polyphony, University of Glasgow Memorial Chapel. https://yokermusic.scot/?iuchair

10        3.00 pm, Purcell’s The Fairy Queen, Leeds Baroque Choir and Orchestra, conductor Peter Holman. Leeds University School of Music. https://www.leedsbaroque.org/

14-16   Monteverdi: Madrigals of War and Love; vocalists from Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, conductor Jeffrey Skidmore.  1900 all nights + 1400 Saturday, Crescent Theatre, Birmingham.  www.bcu.ac.uk/conservatoire

16        Company of Voices with Hugh Cherry (lutes); Chanson d’amour; French love songs, 1500 to 1625; Crecqillon, de la Barre, Lambert. Cilcain Village Hall, N Wales, 1930.

17        Liverpool Renaissance SingersGlories of the Italian Renaissance. 3.00pm, Holy Trinity Church, Southport.

17        Liverpool Bach Collective. 6:30pm, Mossley Hill Parish Church, L18 8DB. Cantata 29: Wir danken dir, Gott, wir danken dir: We thank you, God, we thank you.

19,20   Summer Music by Candlelight sung by Ex Cathedra, 2030, Birmingham Cathedral.  www.excathedra.co.uk

21        K’antu at Commandery, Worcester, various times through the day.

22        Early Music concert, Birmingham Royal Conservatoire students, Old St. Martin’s Church, Worcester, 1300.  www.earlymusicworcs.org

23        1900, Quaker Meeting House, Rawdon, Le Plaisirs de Versailles, music (Couperin, 1668 -1733, and contemporaries) from the court of Louis XIV, with ARIOSO.

23        Evening, Leeds Waits, White Rose Ball at Clayhouse, Greetland. Alan Radford alan.radford@btinternet.com

28        1300, Sheppard Room, University, Leeds. Le Plaisirs de Versailles, music (Couperin, 1668 -1733, and contemporaries) from the court of Louis XIV, with ARIOSO.

29        Ode to Syria with Jordi Savall and Hespèrion XXI.  Birmingham Town Hall, 1930.  www.thsh.co.uk

30        Liverpool Renaissance SingersGlories of the Italian Renaissance. St. Hildeburgh’s Church, Hoylake, Wirral.

30        Espressivo!  Italian sacred and secular choral music: Monteverdi, Gesualdo, Lotti, Gabrieli, Rossini, Pizzetti; Birmingham Bach Choir; St. Alban the Martyr Church, Highgate, Birmingham, 1930.  www.birmingham.bachchoir.com or 07901 798442.

 

July

1          Music to Delight the Ear – C17th and C18th English on period instruments.  www.musicadonumdei.com  HolmePierrepont Hall nr. Nottingham, 1500.

4          Evening, Leeds Waits, Incidental music for a medieval morality play, International Medieval Congress, University of Leeds. Alan Radford alan.radford@btinternet.com

6-14     York Early Music Festival: Brecon Baroque with Rachel Podger, The Sixteen, Gallicantus, Rose Consort of Viols and Paolo Pandolfo.  www.ncem.co.uk

7          Daytime, Leeds Waits, Tudor music and dance with White Rose, for history weekend at Temple Newsam, Leeds. Alan Radford alan.radford@btinternet.com

7          Handel’s Dixit Dominus, Bach’s Singet dem Herrn; Derwent Singers and period orchestra.  Derby Cathedral, 1930.  www.derwentsingers.org.uk

10        St George’s Parish Church, Jesmond, 7.30 pm;  William Shield’s Opera, The Farmer. Rocket Opera (dir. Austin Gunn) and William Shield Chamber Orchestra (conductor John Treherne). Tickets from Eventbright or at the door.  https://www.newcastlegateshead.com/whats-on/william-shield-festival-p822791

11        St Mary’s Heritage Centre, Gateshead Quays, 7.30 pm; William Shield’s Opera, The Farmer.  See July 10th.

 

October

20        Ebor Singers, York Minster, 7.30pm.  www.eborsingers.org.

28        3.00 pm, Music of the Enlightenment, Leeds Baroque Choir and Orchestra, conductor Peter Holman, Leeds College of Music.  https://www.leedsbaroque.org/

 

Contacts for concerts

Armonicohttp://www.armonico.org.uk

Bassenthwaite Festival.  info@bassfest.org.uk , 07849 383727, www.bassfest.org.uk

Birmingham Barber Institutehttp://barber.org.uk/  0121 414 7333

Birmingham Town Hall.  www.thsh.co.uk  0121 345 0600.

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. 0161 907 9000, 0161 950 0015, www.bridgewater-hall.co.uk

Buxton Festival. 0845 1272190, http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Buxton Opera House 0845 1272190, boxoffice@buxtonoperahouse.org.uk, www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk & http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Chandos Choir.  www.solihullchandoschoir.org

Chetham‘s School of Music, Long Millgate, Manchester, M3 1SB, 0161 838 7200,
www.chethams.com

Early Dance Circle Festival, Ann Kent tel. 01484 663842, email paulkent4@btinternet.com http://www.earlydancecircle.co.uk/

Fiori Musicali  http://fiori-musicali.com

Gregynog Festival.  www.gregynogfestival.org

Higham Hall Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth, CA13 9HS, 017687 76276, admin@highamhall.com

Kempley Village Hall, http://www.kempleyvillagehall.org.uk/, 07891 254372.

Leeds University, http://concerts.leeds.ac.uk

Leeds Waits.  alan.radford@btinternet.com

Leicester, Castle House.  www.earlymusicleicester.co.uk

Leominster.  Tourist Information Centre, reception@leominstertourism.co.uk 01568 616460.

Lichfield Festival.  www.lichfieldfestival.org

Liverpool Bach Collective, https://www.liverpoolbach.com/future-events

Liverpool Renaissance Singerswww.liverpoolrenaissancesingers.org

London Festival of Baroque Music, www.lfbm.org.uk

The Magic of Medieval Music  https://www.ipmusic.org.uk/medievalmusic

Music in New Radnor.   Box office  01544 350268.

NCEM, National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church, Walmgate, Percy’s Lane, York, YO1 9TI. 01904 632220, boxoffice@ncem.co.uk, http://www.ncem.co.uk

Recorders Scotland, Lynne Hope at Recorder Players, 19 West Burnside, Dollar, FK14 7DP, Scotland, UK

Ripon.  01765 605508,  www.riponinternationalfestival.com

Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM), Manchester Box Office, 0161 907 5555, box.office@rncm.ac.uk, www.rncm.ac.uk

St Andrew’s & West Church, Edinburgh.  Queen’s Hall Box Office, http://www.thequeenshall.net/elsewhere/shows/,  0131-668 2019

St. George’s Singerswww.st-georges-singers.org.uk, 01663 764012.

St Martin’s Church, Worcester.  www.stmartinsworcester.org.uk

Salts Mill, Saltaire,  01274 288100, sales@earlymusicshop.com, www.earlymusicshop.com

Tewkesburywww.johnmooremuseum.org/events

The Sixteen, www.thesixteen.com

William Byrd Singers.  http://www.williambyrdsingers.org.uk/concerts.shtml

Worcester Cathedral.  Worcester Live Box Office, 01905 611427

Worcester Huntingdon Hall.  Worcester Concert Club, 01905 611427

Worcester Early Music Festival.  www.earlymusicworcs.org

Wordsworth Singers  www.wordsworthsingers.org.uk , 01900 829622.

York,  Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, www.york.ac.uk/concerts

York Waits, http://theyorkwaits.org.uk

 

Advertisements