Concerts

DIARY OF EVENTS

Concerts

Please send information to: jmh@noc.ac.uk.  I do not actively research concerts, relying on members or organisers to submit details for inclusion.

 September

1          2 pm, Trouvere: Reynard the Fox, at Grewelthorpe Village Hall. Medieval music, masks and madcap foolery. Suitable for all the family!  Tel 0772 0118 406.

5/6/7    Concert Royal; Peter Harrison; flute, Rachel Gray; violoncello, John Treherne; square pianoforte; A new pianoforte for Jane: Music from Jane Austen’s collection and contemporary sources with short readings placing the music in context. 5th: 7.30 pm. St.Mary’s Church, Easington, Co.Durham. tickets £5. information: music.ph@btinternet.com; 6th: 7.30 pm, The Hearth Arts Centre, Horsley, nr. Corbridge, Northumberland. tickets £8. information: music.ph@btinternet.com; 7th: 3 pm, Clements Hall, York; m.joice@btinternet.com

8          Liverpool Bach Collective.  St Saviour’s Church, CH43 2JZ, 6:30pm.  Cantata 110: Unser Mund sei voll Lachens: May our Mouths be full of Laughter.

12        Trio Mediæval: Machaut and The Kings of Cyprus, Heptonstall Parish Church, 7pm.  www.cantorelli.co.uk

12        2:30 and 7:30 pm, Music at Markenfield – Tabea Debus Trio – Tabea Debus recorders, Alex McCartney theorbo, Jonathan Rees cello. Music by Caccini, Dowland, Purcell, Bach, Handel, Vivaldi, Corelli, Marais.  Markenfield Hall.  https://www.riponinternationalfestival.org

14        The Sixteen An Immortal Legacy: Bradford; a distinctly British programme spanning over 500 years of choral music. Bradford Cathedral, 7.30pm

15        2.30 pm, A concert of Renaissance vocal music by the four singers of Quodlibet, Silsden Town Hall http://www.thequodlibet.co.uk

19        The Sixteen Choral Pilgrimage; 7:30pm, Birmingham Cathedral

20        The Sixteen Choral Pilgrimage; 7:30pm, Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral

21        The Sixteen Choral Pilgrimage; 7:30pm, Blackburn Cathedral

28        Handel Op 6 Concerti Grossi, Marches Baroque Orchestra, St Andrew’s Church, Presteigne.  info@EarlyMusicInTheMarches.com

28        Land of Pope and Glory; Monteverdi, Gabrieli et al; St. Mary’s church, Warwick, 7.30pm.  www.armonico.org.uk

 

October

6          Liverpool Bach Collective.  St Monica’s Church, L20 9GA, 6:30pm.  Cantata 76, part I: Die Himmel erzählen die Ehre Gottes: The Heavens declare the Glory of God

12        7.30 pm, The Cliffords: Lords of Skipton Castle – “An anarchic history lesson” in words and music; Leeds Waits and Friends.  Rawdon Friends Meeting House, Quakers Lane, LS19 6HU. Contact Barbara Parry barbaraparry@waitrose.com, 0113 2503867

24-28   Brecon Baroque Festival, Brecon, Wales, directed by Rachel Podger.  https://swemf.org.uk/event/1310/

25 – 10 Nov.  Brighton Early music festival www.bremf.org.uk

 

November

7-9       London International Festival of Early Music.  www.earlymusicfestival.com

16        Lichfield Cathedral, 7.30.  Birmingham Bach Choir; Bach, Handel, Haydn.  www.birmingham.bachchoir.com

 

December

1          Ex Cathedra: Bach B minor Mass, Birmingham Town Hall.

7-10     York Early Music Christmas Festival.  www.ncem.co.uk

10        A Spanish Nativity; Stile Antico, St. Mary’s church, Warwick, 7.30pm.  www.leamingtonmusic.org

15        Liverpool Renaissance Singers.  Liverpool Anglican Cathedral Lady Chapel, 7.30pm; with Voci and The York Waits.

20        The Waites of Gloucester; The Holly & The Ivy; historical Christmas music. Harvington Hall, Kidderminster, 3pm and 7pm.  https://swemf.org.uk/event/1443/

 

Contacts for concerts

Armonicohttp://www.armonico.org.uk

Bassenthwaite Festival.  info@bassfest.org.uk , 07849 383727, www.bassfest.org.uk

Birmingham Barber Institutehttp://barber.org.uk/  0121 414 7333

Birmingham Town Hall.  www.thsh.co.uk  0121 345 0600.

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. 0161 907 9000, 0161 950 0015, www.bridgewater-hall.co.uk

Buxton Festival. 0845 1272190, http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Buxton Opera House 0845 1272190, boxoffice@buxtonoperahouse.org.uk, www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk & http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk

Chandos Choir.  www.solihullchandoschoir.org

Chetham‘s School of Music, Long Millgate, Manchester, M3 1SB, 0161 838 7200,
www.chethams.com

Early Dance Circle Festival, Ann Kent tel. 01484 663842, email paulkent4@btinternet.com http://www.earlydancecircle.co.uk/

Ex Cathedra. www.excathedra.co.uk

Fiori Musicali  http://fiori-musicali.com

Gregynog Festival.  www.gregynogfestival.org

Higham Hall Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth, CA13 9HS, 017687 76276, admin@highamhall.com

Kempley Village Hall, http://www.kempleyvillagehall.org.uk/, 07891 254372.

Leeds University, http://concerts.leeds.ac.uk

Leeds Waits.  alan.radford@btinternet.com

Leicester, Castle House.  www.earlymusicleicester.co.uk

Leominster.  Tourist Information Centre, reception@leominstertourism.co.uk 01568 616460.

Lichfield Festival.  www.lichfieldfestival.org

Liverpool Bach Collective, https://www.liverpoolbach.com/future-events

Liverpool Renaissance Singerswww.liverpoolrenaissancesingers.org

London Festival of Baroque Music, www.lfbm.org.uk

The Magic of Medieval Music  https://www.ipmusic.org.uk/medievalmusic

Music in New Radnor.   Box office  01544 350268.

NCEM, National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church, Walmgate, Percy’s Lane, York, YO1 9TI. 01904 632220, boxoffice@ncem.co.uk, http://www.ncem.co.uk

Newcastle University https://www.ncl.ac.uk/events/live-music/nemf/

Oswestry, https://www.universe.com/users/oswestry-school-recital-series-B97WTF

Recorders Scotland, Lynne Hope at Recorder Players, 19 West Burnside, Dollar, FK14 7DP, Scotland, UK

Ripon.  01765 605508,  www.riponinternationalfestival.com

Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM), Manchester Box Office, 0161 907 5555, box.office@rncm.ac.uk, www.rncm.ac.uk

St Andrew’s & West Church, Edinburgh.  Queen’s Hall Box Office, http://www.thequeenshall.net/elsewhere/shows/,  0131-668 2019

St. George’s Singerswww.st-georges-singers.org.uk, 01663 764012.

St Martin’s Church, Worcester.  www.stmartinsworcester.org.uk

Salts Mill, Saltaire,  01274 288100, sales@earlymusicshop.com, www.earlymusicshop.com

Stratford, http://www.stratford-upon-avon.org/soundbites

Tewkesburywww.oldchapelcourtconcerts.eventbrite.com

The Sixteen, www.thesixteen.com

William Byrd Singers.  http://www.williambyrdsingers.org.uk/concerts.shtml

Worcester Cathedral.  Worcester Live Box Office, 01905 611427

Worcester Huntingdon Hall.  Worcester Concert Club, 01905 611427

Worcester Early Music Festival.  www.earlymusicworcs.org

Wordsworth Singers  www.wordsworthsingers.org.uk , 01900 829622.

York,  Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, www.york.ac.uk/concerts

York Waits, http://theyorkwaits.org.uk

 

Advertisements